open it

ABSIA held their 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday 28 October at 3pm (AEDT). The current ABSIA Board, Nominated Directors and ABSIA Members were all invited to attend the AGM via teleconference. 

The number of Board Nominees exceeded the number of available positions and proxy voting was held in the lead up to the AGM. The results of proxy votes were tallied at the meeting with one vote being made in person. 

President's Report

Chris Howard delivered the president's report which was then accepted. 

Treasurer's Report

Matthew Prouse delivered the treasurer's report which was then accepted. 

Retiring Directors

One Board Member, Mike Behling, has stepped down from his Director position on the Board. Mike has reached his maximum term limit on the Board and is required to resign under the Constitution. ABSIA wishes to extend many thanks to Mike for his contributions to ABSIA as a Director over the years.

Ian Gibson also stepped down from his Director position under clause 36.2 of the Constitution due to his retirement from SuperChoice. 

Simon Foster, Marjukka Maki-Hokkonen and Michael Ross were also at the end of their terms and re-nominated for the Board.   

Election of Directors

After tallying electronic proxy votes and one in-meeting vote, ABSIA welcomed two new Board Members. ABSIA wishes to welcome Chris Denney from SuperChoice and Ann White from Ozedi on to the Board as Directors effective as of 1 January 2021. 

Current Board Directors, Simon Foster, Marjukka Maki-Hokkonen and Michael Ross were all welcomed back on to the Board. 

Constitution Changes

A vote of 75% or greater was achieved for all of the proposed Constitution changes bringing them into effect immediately. An outline of these changes can be found here. The new Constitution is available here. 

Other Business

There was no other business raised by those on the call. 

Filling of Vacant Positions

At the November Board Meeting, the Board decided to use the recently passed constitution change to expand the current number of Director positions on the Board. As a result, two casual vacancies for Elected Directors and two Co-Opted Director positions were made available. ABSIA wishes to welcome both Andrew Stirling from Tanda and Sreeni Pillamarri from Softlabs as Directors for a one year term each as well as Emma Dobson as a Co-Opted Director for a two year term.

The Board then agreed to invite current Director, Ian Gibson, to take up the remaining Co-Opted Director position which was then accepted. 

2021 Board of Directors

Following the announcement of the voting results and with no other business, Elected Directors and the current Board of Directors had a meeting to discuss new office bearer positions. They are as follows:

  • Simon Foster - President and Chair
  • Matthew Prouse - Director and Vice President
  • Secretary (currently vacant)
  • Treasurer (currently vacant)

    Vacant office bearer positions will be elected on at a later date.

    • Simon Foster - Director, President and Chair
    • Matthew Prouse - Director and Vice President
    • Chris Denney - Director
    • Chris Howard - Director
    • Marjukka Maki-Hokkonen - Director
    • Sreeni Pillamarri - Director
    • Michael Ross - Director
    • Andrew Stirling - Director
    • Ann White - Director
    • Emma Dobson - Co-Opted Director
    • Ian Gibson - Co-Opted Director
    • Brad Stockman - Co-Opted Director


    Be the first to hear about the latest business software industry news, updates, and events.

    Online Forum

    Get involved in the discussion! Post your comments and have your say!

    Go To Forum

    Member Directory

    Browse through DSPANZ Members and learn more about them here.

    Browse List